top of page

Try It On Tuesday's - Use Stencils


This page is for Try It On Tuesday's challenge, use stencils. I must say, this one turned out a lot better than I thought it was going to. It also turned out completely different than what I had planned.

🌀 Since the challenge called for stencils, my original idea was to paint the background a dull muted color and let it dry. So I did.

🌀 I then painted a layer of green over it. While the green was still wet, I payed a stencil across it and attempted to rub off the green paint with a damp paper towel.

🌀 Well that didn't go to well and it ended up looking smeary. So I padded it some more with a dry paper towel.

🌀 While that was drying I colored my Victorian lady in with colored pencils and cut her out and glued her in place.

🌀 I gave her some depth with a light blue acrylic.

🌀 I then got my lace stencil and positioned it. I stamped over it using a paper towel and gesso.

🌀 While it dried, I applied some glue in places and sprinkled some tube beads.

🌀 I still felt like it needed something else in the stenciled corner so I ended up finding a flourish stamp and stamped several times in the same place with 3 different colors.

Now that it's done, I feel overall satisfied. I like how all the colors matched.

Heather McClelland

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page