top of page

Mixed Media World - Texture


This "texture" challenge by Mixed Media World was crazy fun. I definitely got some good textures on my page.

🌀I started by stamping some gel medium on my page. I put so much on the stamp that it just looks like goopy mountains all over.

🌀 After it dried I sprayed some spray ink on it in a few different colors. But it wasn't enough texture I thought.

🌀 So I scraped on a ton of gesso on the bottom half with a credit card.

🌀 Then I got a piece of sequin waste and pushed it into the gesso. That's what is making the dots on my page.

🌀 For the parts of gesso that wasn't covered by the sequin waste, I sort of scraped upward using a butter knife. You can't see it too well, but it was neat.

🌀 I dried it with a heat gun and something cool happened. The sequin waste that was visible started melting, adding more texture.

🌀 I felt I still needed more, so I added the fibers by spraying them down with spray glue.

🌀 After all that, is when I added the silver flowers, string, and sequin leaves.

Awesome huh?

Heather McClelland

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page